Backpacker in disguise

Dreamer. Traveller. Food Lover.

Dinner by Heston Blumenthal Mandarin Oriental

I have a long list of restaurants saved on my phone in where I want to eat and Dinner by Heston Blumenthal has been a long term tenant at the top. Although it’s one thing to want to visit and another to get a booking at a restaurant which boasts two Michelin stars after launching four years ago. Then one summer evening back in July I was in a queue and randomly checked their website and viola I found a slot in October at 6:30pm and took it as a sign to go.

The whole evening was faultless from start to finish. We were seated by the window in the corner so could get a good view of the restaurant. The service was outstanding and the staff knew the menu back to front when I asked them questions about certain dishes. The menu is inspired by historic British dishes which explains the date next to each dish and is also referenced at the back of the menu with more information if you want to dig deeper.

Meat Fruit (c.1500)

This signature dish won it for me and set the bar up high for the rest of the dinner. What looks like a plump mandarin was in fact chicken liver and foie gras parfait cloaked in orange fruit jelly served with grilled sourdough bread. It was my most eagerly anticipated dish and hit every single spot. I’m still dreaming of it now.

Meat Fruit

cut meat fruit

 

Powdered Duck Breast (c.1670)

I really liked the smoked beetroot, it complimented the duck and umbles so well. The waiter did tell me why it was called “Powdered” and I think it was to do with powdering the duck in salt in preparation for brining. But whatever they did, the duck was delicious and perfectly cooked. It was served with the brine juice, giving it that extra kick of flavour.

Powdered duck breast

 

Tipsy Cake (c.1810)

This dessert is another signature dish which needs to be pre ordered at least 30 minutes before serving, as it is made to order. The brioche was light, soaked with brandy at the bottom and warmed up my mouth with each bite. The pineapple looked impressive hanging in the kitchen, roasting on a spit to caramelise but I didn’t think was all that.

Tipsy cake

 

The birthday surprise – Heston’s Chocolate Gateau

After dessert we had a brief conversation with the waiter then behind him someone brings out a birthday cake. What a lovely surprise and kudos to my boyfriend for organising. The cake was constructed beautifully but there was no way we could finish something so decadent so had it wrapped and boxed to take home. I did try it the day after and it is a chocoholic’s dream. Very rich chocolate ganache with  orange jelly in the middle and a crunchy biscuit base with an element of surprise, popping candy.

Mandarin Oriental cake

Chocolate cake

The whole dining experience was perfect. The food lived up to its standards and my taste buds experienced new flavours it never knew existed. I would love to come here again especially for the Meat Fruit but for now this is one restaurant I can happily tick off my list.

Dinner By Heston Blumenthal - Mandarin Oriental Hyde Park Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a comment

Follow Backpacker in disguise on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Instagram

No Instagram images were found.

Archive